A great advantage of Ambassify's API-share feature, is that you're able to seamlessly connect your social network accounts to your Ambassify account. This allows you to directly share or interact with campaigns without leaving the interface.

In this article, we'll dive into the data permissions of LinkedIn. During the process of connecting your personal LinkedIn profile to your Ambassify account, you'll see a message indicating that the Ambassify App would like to:

  • Use your name and photo

  • Use the primary email address associated with your LinkedIn account

  • Use your basic profile including your name, photo, headline, and public profile URL

  • Create, modify, and delete posts, comments, and reactions on your behalf

  • Use your 1st-degree connections' data

These are the default permissions that LinkedIn requires. This does not mean that Ambassify uses these permissions exactly as they are described, nor do we have an influence on how LinkedIn formulates its permissions. So, let's take a closer look at the last two bullet points/permissions that may require some more context.

"Create, modify, and delete posts, comments, and reactions on your behalf"

This permission is referring to the fact that - thanks to our native integration with LinkedIn - you can actually create posts from within Ambassify (i.e. your ambassador community) without needing to leave the interface and switch to LinkedIn. In this way, we offer you a smooth user experience within our platform. However, you are still in control over what you want to publish on LinkedIn. In other words, Ambassify enables you to easily publish/react/share/comment on LinkedIn, but it will not act on your behalf.

For example, imagine you're logged in to your community and you to share an article on LinkedIn. You can then share this directly inside the community and the technology of Ambassify will make sure that your post gets published on LinkedIn. This means that as a user, you give Ambassify the permission to publish on your behalf.

What Ambassify does not do, is later on modify or delete your comment or reaction. This would only be possible if you as a user would do so yourself. As mentioned above, the permissions message is a default message and should not be taken literally.

"Use your 1st-degree connections' data"

This permission refers to the reporting. Thanks to our native integration with LinkedIn, we can offer real reporting metrics (instead of metrics based on averages). This means that if you share a post on LinkedIn (e.g. via a Social Share campaign) and your post generates clicks by people in your network, then these interactions you receive are actual results.

In order to calculate the potential reach of the post you shared, Ambassify takes into account your 1st degree connections. If you have a lot of connections, this will positively influence the potential reach of your post because more people are likely to have seen your post. In other words, we're not receiving or using any sensitive data of your 1st degree connections. We only measure the impact of your campaigns by looking at the number of connections. These results are shown in the reporting panel.

Did this answer your question?